American Society of Landscape Architects Inducts 2008 Officers

North Carolina A & T State University Professor to Lead Society


Washington, DC October 29, 2007 — The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) inducted Perry Howard, FASLA, as the 63rd president of the 18,000 member Society during the 2007 Annual Meeting and EXPO in San Francisco.

Since 1989, Howard has served as program coordinator for the landscape architecture department at North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University in Greensboro, NC—helping establish the program. Previously he was a vice president at EDSA in Fort Lauderdale, FL. Howard received his BLA from Louisiana State University and his MLA from the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. He has a long history of service with ASLA, serving as the Florida Chapter Secretary, the North Carolina Chapter national Trustee, and most recently as the North Carolina Chapter President.

“Our most important work as landscape architects is the promotion and creation of healthy, sustainable and artful environments,” said Howard in his first speech as president. “Additionally, our most important work as a Society includes projects such as our green roof and the Sustainable Sites Initiative. These make us strong as a Society and we want to continue this type of good work.”

Howard’s successor in 2009 will be President-elect Angela Dye, FASLA, of Phoenix, AZ. Founder of A DYE DESIGN, INC., she has more than 25 years of experience in landscape architecture specializing in context sensitive design of transportation, transit, urban design, recreation, and public art-oriented projects in natural or urban space. Previously ASLA’s Vice President of Government Affairs, Dye has also served as chair of the government affairs committee, an Arizona Chapter national Trustee, and the Arizona Chapter President.

Along with Howard and Dye, ASLA installed three new vice presidents:

Tom Tavella, ASLA, is the new Vice President of Communication. He serves as vice president of BCS Group in Glastonbury, CT.

Terry Clements, ASLA, is the new Vice President of Education, and is an associate professor in the Landscape Architecture Program at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA.

Jonathan Mueller, FASLA, is the new Vice President of Government Affairs and a senior landscape architect with Landmark, of Coeur d’ Alene, ID.

The new vice presidents will serve two-year terms. Continuing service on the ASLA executive committee are: Todd Wichman, ASLA, Vice president of Information and Practice and principal of Todd Wichman Landscape Architecture, LLC, in St. Paul, MN; Gary Scott, FASLA, Vice President of Finance and director of parks and recreation for the City of West Des Moines, IA; and Susan Hatchell, FASLA, Vice President of Membership and principal of Susan Hatchell Landscape Architecture, PLLC, and associate adjunct professor at the Department of Landscape Architecture at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, NC.


Karen T. Grajales
Manager, Public Relations 
tel: 1-202-216-2371