Professional Practice

The Architect’s Newspaper Best of Design Awards

Date: 8/31/2022 - 10/6/2022

Type: Competitions / Awards

LA CES approved?: No

Location(s): International


The Architect’s Newspaper tenth annual Best of Design Awards is a unique, project-based awards program that showcases great buildings, landscapes, unbuilt proposals, and installations.

Entrants are invited to submit completed works in 39 categories that reflect AN’s editorial coverage, as well as the interests and obsessions of our readers. Categories include: Landscape; Urban Design & Master Plan; Student Work; Social Impact; Unbuilt Landscape, Urban Design & Master Plan; Temporary Installation; and Exhibition Design.

The Best of Design jury—including Jim Burnett, FASLA, President, OJB Landscape Architecture—will judge entries based on several criteria: strength of the presentation, evidence of innovation, creative use of new technology, sustainability, and, most importantly, good design.

Winners will be announced in December 2022.

In order for a project to be eligible for submission, it must have been completed within two year’s time of the submission deadline, so since October 2020. Landscape, public, unbuilt, and representation projects must have been initiated within three years time of the submission deadline, so since October 2019.

The Best of Design Awards is open to all firms (e.g., architects, designers, consultants, engineers, manufacturers, developers) with offices in the United States, Canada, or Mexico.





Professional Practice: 

Library and
Research Services:
Ian Bucacink

RFQs & Opportunities:

Historic Landscapes (HALS):