Professional Practice

University of Washington Dept. of Landscape Architecture, Design and Development Programs in Peru and Nepal

Date: 3/1/2017 - 3/1/2017

Type: Other

LA CES approved?: No

Location(s): International

Description: University of Washington Landscape Architecture Study Abroad Opportunities in Peru and Nepal!

IUCI / Design / Development / Peru / Nepal

The Informal Urban Communities Initiative (IUCI) Design / Development programs in Peru and Nepal are two unique, 28-day programs offered by the University of Washington's Department of Landscape Architecture. The programs challenge students to delve into contemporary debates surrounding development and respond to them through community-based participatory design. Students in the IUCI Design / Development programs in Peru and Nepal will explore the challenges of urban poverty and engage in small scale design interventions in under-served urban neighborhoods in Lima and Kathmandu. Students will learn critical skills in participatory design, implementation, and project assessment.

The programs will both run from August 21 until September 18, 2017

Applications are due March 1, 2017.

Students from any university and professionals are welcome to apply as non-matriculated students.

For more information -

Design / Development / Peru
https://studyabroad.washington.edu/index.cfm?FuseAction=Programs.ViewProgram&Program_ID=11572

Director Brian Gerich - brian@uw.edu

Design / Development / Nepal
https://studyabroad.washington.edu/index.cfm?FuseAction=Programs.ViewProgram&Program_ID=11477

Director Ben Spencer - bspen@uw.edu

IUCI
http://iuci.be.washington.edu/wp/

UW International Programs
http://www.washington.edu/studyabroad/students/

Contact

JobLink
Carolyn Mitchell
cmitchell@asla.org

Firm Finder                                                      
Maxine Artis
martis@asla.org
           
SITES
Linette Straus                                                                           
lstraus@asla.org

Professional Practice
propractice@asla.org 

Library and Research Services                          
Ian Bucacink
ibucacink@asla.org

RFQs & Opportunities                                      
Terence Poltrack
tpoltrack@asla.org

Historic Landscapes (HALS)                              
Ali Hay
ahay@asla.org

Join

Donate