Professional Practice

16th Annual EDRA Great Places Awards Call for Entries

Date: 1/14/2014 - 2/3/2014

Type: Competitions / Awards

Location(s): US


The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) invites entries for the 16th Annual Great Places Awards. The 2014 program seeks to recognize work that combines expertise in design, research, and practice, and contributes to the creation of dynamic, humane places that engage our attention and imagination. Award-winning projects reflect an interdisciplinary approach that is enduring, human-centered, sustainable, and concerned with the experiential relationship between people and their environment (built and natural) over time.

All submissions should show how research and/or public participation is linked to or part of an environmental design practice, and vice versa. Submissions should also demonstrate how an understanding of the experience of place may be used to generate insightful design. Submissions must be received by February 3, 2014. Complete submission information can be found online at

Awards are presented in four categories: Place Design, Place Planning, Place Research, and the Great Places Book Prize. Submissions are welcome from the full breadth of environmental design and related research activities, including architecture, landscape architecture, planning, urban design, interior design, lighting design, graphic design, place-based public art, environmental psychology, sociology, anthropology, geography, and the physical sciences.


Julia Lent

Firm Finder                                                      
Maxine Artis
Linette Straus                                                                  

Professional Practice 

Library and Research Services                          
Ian Bucacink

RFQs & Opportunities                                      
Terence Poltrack

Historic Landscapes (HALS)                              
Ali Hay