ASLA 2018 Professional & Student Awards

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards honor the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the ASLA Student Awards give us a glimpse into the future of the profession.

Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture Magazine, the magazine of ASLA, and in many other design and construction industry and general interest media. Award recipients, their clients, and advisors will be honored at the awards presentation ceremony during the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Philadelphia, October 19-22, 2018.

Submissions for 2018 are now closed.

The Juries

The prestige of the ASLA awards program relies in large part on the high caliber of the juries convened each year to review submissions. The ASLA Honors and Awards Advisory Committee seeks to assemble juries that represent the breadth of the profession, including private, public, institutional, and academic practice, and exemplify diversity in professional experience, geography, gender, and ethnicity.

Professional Awards Jury

Mark A. Focht, FASLA – CHAIR*
New York City Parks & Recreation
New York City, NY USA

Gerdo Aquino, FASLA
Los Angeles, CA USA

Anita Berrizbeitia, ASLA
Harvard Graduate School of Design
Cambridge, MA USA

Christian Gabriel, ASLA
U.S. General Services Administration
Washington, DC USA

Terry Guen-Murray, FASLA
Terry Guen Design Associates
Chicago, IL USA

Dale Jaeger, FASLA
Jaeger Landscape Architecture
Gainesville, GA USA

Sam Lubell
Architecture Writer
New York City, NY USA

Patrick Phillips
Urban Land Institute
Washington, DC USA

Barbara Wilks, FAIA, FASLA
W Architecture + Landscape Architecture, LLC
New York City, NY USA

*NOTE: In an exception to the rule, NYC public projects can be submitted and the chair will recuse himself from any assessment or discussion

Joining the professional jury for the selection of the Research Category will be representatives on behalf of LAF | Landscape Architecture Foundation and CELA | Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture.

LAF Logo

M. Elen Deming, FASLA
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC USA


Ashley Steffens
UGA – College of Environment and Design
Athens, GA USA

Student Awards Jury

Roberto Rovira, ASLA – CHAIR
Florida International University, Studio Roberto Rovira
Miami, FL USA

Kurt Culbertson, FASLA
Design Workshop
Aspen, CO USA

Andrea Cochran, FASLA
Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture
San Francisco, CA USA

Tom Dallessio
Next City
Philadelphia, PA USA

Jennifer Daniels, ASLA
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC USA

Ray Gastil
City of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA USA

Jeffrey Hou, ASLA
University of Washington
Seattle, WA USA

Elizabeth Kennedy, ASLA
Elizabeth Kennedy Landscape Architects
New York City, NY USA

Lucinda Sanders, FASLA
Philadelphia, PA USA