Professional Practice
Special ASWM Webinar: Options for Financing Environmental Enhancement at the Local Level in Oregon
Date: 1/23/2014 - 1/23/2014
Type: Events
Location(s):
US
Description:

Special Association of State Wetland Managers Webinar: Options for Financing Environmental Enhancement at the Local Level in Oregon

This webinar will be presented by Amanda Punton, Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development and Glenn Barnes Environmental Finance Center at the University of North Carolina School of Government
Date: January 23, 2014 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern, 1:00 p.m.Central, 12:00 p.m. Mountain and 11:00 a.m. Pacific.

Abstract: This webinar will explore a structure for engaging local governments in a conversation about sustainable local financing of environmental enhancement efforts. The webinar will feature a new tool created to illustrate options for generating local funds at a city, county and special district capacity. In particular, the tool brings focus to how partnerships within a watershed can layer local funding with grant and loan programs to achieve a common goal, a “Sim City” of natural resource enhancement. The Oregon Coastal Management Program and the UNC Environmental Finance Center have collaborated on this effort. We will see a demonstration of the tool and discuss how it might be used in Oregon to assist local governments develop implementation plans for meeting water quality, wetland or habitat protection targets.

To register please, go here: https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/842514414.

Amanda Punton is the natural resource specialist for the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development. As staff for the Oregon Costal Management Program she assists local governments in the coastal zone with planning and management measures to reduce impacts on water quality from existing and new development. As staff for the statewide land use program she works on rule implementation and policies focused on the intersection of natural resource protection with urban development and the use of resource land for farm, forest and aggregate production. Amanda has been with DLCD for 16 years. Previously she worked at the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality.

Glenn Barnes is a senior project director with the Environmental Finance Center based at the University of North Carolina School of Government. He joined the Environmental Finance Center in 2006. Glenn teaches workshops for public officials, provides direct community assistance, and carries out research on a range of topics from green government, energy, and sustainability to stormwater management, water and sewer rate-setting, and wetlands and watersheds finance. Prior to joining the Environmental Finance Center, he worked for non-profits in New England focusing on renewable energy, biofuels, and environmental regulation. Glenn holds a BA and MPA from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.