Special Events

Monday, October 1

7:00 am – 8:30 am
Women in Landscape Architecture: Walk to the Historic Walker Building
Meet at Civic Plaza at the First Street & Adams Street Entry Plaza.

Join us for a short walk to the historic Walker Building that serves as the headquarters for the local AIA chapter. Enjoy a visual presentation showcasing award-winning landscape architecture projects from the Southwest. Refreshments, featuring locally inspired food, provided by the ASLA Arizona Chapter.


8:00 am – 9:30 am
ASLA Council of Fellows Business Meeting
Current members of the Council of Fellows are welcome. Meeting badge required.

ASLA Council of Fellows Chair Pat Caughey, FASLA, in conducting the annual business of the council, introducing the scholarship recipients, recapping the events of the last year, and planning for the future.


12 noon
ASLA Awards Ceremony
Phoenix Convention Center
All meeting attendees, family, and guests are welcome.

Each year, the ASLA Professional Awards program honors the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, while the Student Awards program gives us a glimpse of the future of the profession. A video presentation will highlight the projects receiving awards in the General Design, Residential Design, Analysis and Planning, Research, and Communications categories, as well as the 2012 recipients of the Landmark Award, the Student Awards, and the Bradford Williams Medals. All Student Award of Excellence official entrants receive scholarships to attend the annual meeting, courtesy of Landscape Structures.

Sponsored by Firestone


The President’s Dinner: Presentation of ASLA Honors & Installation of Officers
Sheraton Phoenix Downtown

7:00 pm

7:30 pm

Ticketed event. Tickets will not be sold at the door.

Enjoy an extraordinary evening as we pay tribute to the distinguished recipients of ASLA’s highest honors: The ASLA Medal, The ASLA Design Medal, The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal, The LaGasse Medals, The Medal of Excellence, The Olmsted Medal, The Landscape Architecture Firm Award, The Community Service Award ASLA’s new national officers will be installed immediately following the awards ceremony.

The honorees are:

The ASLA Medal: Cornelia H. Oberlander, FASLA
The ASLA Design Medal: Peter E. Walker, FASLA
The Jot D. Carpenter Medal: Herrick H. Smith, FASLA
The LaGasse Medal: Mary V. Hughes, FASLA
The LaGasse Medal: Chesapeake Bay Foundation
The Olmsted Medal: U. S. Representative Earl Blumenauer, Hon. ASLA
The Landscape Architecture Medal of Excellence: Design Workshop's DESIGN WEEK
The Landscape Architecture Firm Award: PWP Landscape Architecture
The Community Service Award: ASLA Potomac Chapter / ACE Mentor Program Legacy Project
The President’s Medal: To be announced that evening

Tickets purchased by 7/6, $125; by 8/17, $140; after 8/17, $155.

Sponsored by Bartlett Tree Experts

Registration Deadlines

Advance Registration
August 17, 2012

News RSS Feed

Annual Meeting Updates


Join the Conversation
Twitter #ASLA2012